Inaugural Program Announced

17 12 2008

Earlier today the Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies announced the lineup for the 56th Inauguration… I guess Beyonce didn’t get her wish to sing here–but Aretha is on the program!


Line-up Includes Musical Greats Aretha Franklin, Yo-Yo Ma and Itzhak Perlman

WASHINGTON, DC – Senator Dianne Feinstein, Chairman of the Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies, today announced the program for the 56th Presidential Inauguration, which will take place on the West Front of the U.S. Capitol on January 20, 2009.

“I am delighted to announce this superb line-up of participants in the 2009 inaugural ceremonies,” said Senator Feinstein. “The inauguration of President-elect Barack Obama will be an event of historic proportion. It is appropriate that the program will include some of the world’s most gifted artists from a wide range of backgrounds and genres.”

The program participants were invited by the Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies and chosen by the Chairman, the Presidential-elect and the Vice President-elect. In addition to Senator Feinstein, the members of the Joint Congressional Committee on Inaugural Ceremonies include: Senator Bob Bennett, Ranking Member of the Senate Rules Committee; Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid; Speaker of the House Nancy Pelosi; House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer; and House Republican Leader John Boehner.

The order of the program will be as follows:

Musical Selection: The United States Marine Band

Musical Selections: The San Francisco Boys Chorus and the San Francisco Girls Chorus

Call to Order and Welcoming Remarks: The Honorable Dianne Feinstein

Invocation: Dr. Rick Warren, Saddleback Church, Lake Forest, CA

Musical Selection: Aretha Franklin

Oath of Office Administered to Vice President-elect Joseph R. Biden, Jr. By Associate Justice of the Supreme Court The Honorable John Paul Stevens

Musical Selection: John Williams, composer/arranger, Itzhak Perlman, Violin Yo-Yo Ma, Cello Gabriela Montero, Piano Anthony McGill, Clarinet

Oath of Office Administered to President-elect Barack H. Obama By the Chief Justice of the United States The Honorable John G. Roberts, Jr.

Inaugural Address: The President of the United States, The Honorable Barack H. Obama

Poem: Elizabeth Alexander

Benediction: The Reverend Dr. Joseph E. Lowery

The National Anthem: The United States Navy Band “Sea Chanters”